Coming Soon To This Blog….

So, I’ve done my big series looking at Marvel, DC, The Hobbit, Star Wars, Narnia, and I just finished up my Star Trek series. So, the question is, how do I end the year? 2016 has been a difficult year, and I’m not just talking about in terms of the geopolitical situation going on around the world. It’s been a trying year for me personally as well.

I don’t know about you, but I’ve been hit by a wave of nostalgia for a simpler time. An easier time. A time when things made sense. For a childhood favorite that reminded us that the simplest pleasures like a warm blanket or a warm puppy could bring happiness.

Thus, I’ll be doing a series looking at characters from Charles M. Schulz beloved Peanuts comic strip. With A Charlie Brown Christmas having its 50th anniversary last year, and this year marking the 50th for It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown and the success of The Peanuts movie it just felt appropriate.  Charlie Brown, Linus, Lucy, Sally, Franklin, Schroder, Peppermint Patty, Marcie and of course the lovable beagle, Snoopy will all be here.

It may come as a surprise to many, but the Peanuts comic strip is incredibly deep and nuanced, perhaps more so then some may realize. I know I’ve been amazed at what I’ve learned thus far, and I think you will be too. So join me this fall in “Good Greif! Celebrating Peanuts”.

About jonathondsvendsen

Hi! Thanks for stopping by my blog! Somehow you stumbled upon it. Whatever brought you around, I'm glad you're here. I am a free-lance writer and independent scholar of pop-cultural mythology, living and working in Minnesota. An aspiring mythmaker, I dream of voyages through space, fantastic worlds, and even my own superhero or two. I am also an established public speaker and have guest-lectured for college classes on the topic of comic book superheroes. I graduated from Bethel University in 2007 with a degree in Literature and Creative writing. I also write for the website NarniaFans.com. Head on over and you can check out my book reviews , a few fun interviews and even my April Fools Day jokes.
This entry was posted in Comic Books, Film, TV shows and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coming Soon To This Blog….

  1. Elaine and Herb Svendsen says:

    Often I am hit by the same wave of nostalgia when I/we remember the special times we had with you and our other Grandchildren (and our kids) enjoying all these stories together. A very special part of our memories. Thanks for sharing with us!

Leave a Reply

