Keeping Feb. 14th in my own way…

Full disclosure: back in college I had a great idea. Make and sell sarcastic and cynical Valentine cards. I wrote a series of poems with a bit of a “bite” to them and e-mailed them to my buddies who got a good laugh. One friend of mine, who was a business major, didn’t think there was a market for them as people would rather print them up and give them away for free.

As such, amongst my friends it became an annual tradition for me to write up a few joke messages and send them so we could all have a good laugh about a day that usually made us feel miserable due to our singleness. Many times I would also create a series of “rejected” cards based on popular movies that came out that year.This year I was delighted when I went to Target and saw Guardians of the Galaxy themed Valentines cards.  While the cards were nice, the messages just sounded so generic that they could have been slapped on a My Little Pony Friendship is Magic card set and it would have the same affect. So I decided I’d make my own.

My sister urged me to post them on -line and I was almost going to. However, in being true to the characters I had the feeling that if  I were to post all of them on-line, it is possible some kids who may not fully understand things like satire or sarcasm might be reading this blog and would decided  print them up to give them to friends at school…and next thing you know I’m being named in a bullying lawsuit. These days, you can’t be too careful.

However, one card did make the cut…fan-favorite Groot. Let’s face it…Groot was all heart. He could only “say” something moving….*sniff*Enjoy!

 

Groot Valentine

Groot Valentine

 

 

Disclaimer: I do not own Groot, or the Guardians of the Galaxy. Groot and the GotG are owned by Disney/Marvel. This is intended purely for fun. No money was exchanged in the process.

Photo Credit: 2014 Disney-Marvel.

Text Credit: “How do I love thee” by Elizabeth Barrett Browning. 1806-1961.

 

 

About jonathondsvendsen

Hi! Thanks for stopping by my blog! Somehow you stumbled upon it. Whatever brought you around, I'm glad you're here. I am a free-lance writer and independent scholar of pop-cultural mythology, living and working in Minnesota. An aspiring mythmaker, I dream of voyages through space, fantastic worlds, and even my own superhero or two. I am also an established public speaker and have guest-lectured for college classes on the topic of comic book superheroes. I graduated from Bethel University in 2007 with a degree in Literature and Creative writing. I also write for the website NarniaFans.com. Head on over and you can check out my book reviews , a few fun interviews and even my April Fools Day jokes.
This entry was posted in Holiday, Uncategorized, Valentine's Day. and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

