College Roommate Survival Tip: Don’t Forget Your Keys!

While the fall doesn’t officially start until September 21st, school is starting up. For many young adults  across the country and even the world that means they will be heading off to college for the first time. Many adults like to send them off with sound advice and wisdom on this new aspect of their lives journey. After all, some of them will be on their own for the first time, which means they will be forced to make some serious life decisions.

No doubt they have heard it all before. Study hard. Focus. Prioritize. Get lots of sleep. Exercise. Study hard. Relax. Have fun. Make new friends. Reach for the stars. But I’d like to point out something that is very often over looked. Don’t, and I repeat don’t, forget your keys.

keys

This sounds like common sense. After all when a teenager leaves the house they might take a seat of keys with them. However if they leave them, on accident they tend to know where to find a hideakey to get in. Other times, a parent or older sibling may be home and they can count on them to let them in. You don’t have that luxury in college.

Now, I am just not talking about when you go to class. I am talking about if you leave your room for any reason. Even if you need to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night. You never know if you’ll return to your room to find the door has been locked by a well-intentioned roommate

It can and does happen. I speak from experience. I had gotten up on morning the first day of classes my freshman year for my 7:45 in the morning English class. I had gone to get cleaned up, and when I came back one of my roommates had locked the door and my keys were sitting on my desk in my room. I had to use a phone to call into my room to get my roommate to open the door. Much to say neither of us were very happy with the other that day.  Much to say had I remembered my keys this could have potentially eased up on some of the tension.

Unless your one of those lucky few who actually gets to room with someone they already know, you and your first roommate are pretty much going to be thrown into the mix together, seemingly at random. Even if you do get to pick your roommate that first year there is still the simple and incontrovertible fact that the two of you are actually going to be living together for nine months out of the year. You will actually be sharing living space with another human being in something a bout the size of an Apollo command service module.

Unless you are siblings and have being together for your whole life, this means that inevitably personality and schedule conflicts will arise. One of you might have early morning classes while the other may be the type who likes to sleep in and wants to rock and roll all night (and party every day).You can’t always count on your roommate being ready to open the door for you. Your mom or dad may stay up late waiting for you to come home, but that’s not your roommate’s job.

Your roommate, at best is going to be your friend. But you two can easily become rivals because of the smallest mistakes. The best thing to do is try to avoid some of the most obvious errors. I’d say along with avoiding accidental biology projects by leaving perishable food items out, remembering  your keys is highest on that list.

That and beware of the cockamouse living on your dorm room floor under your roommates mound of stuff.

The Cockamouse

About jonathondsvendsen

Hi! Thanks for stopping by my blog! Somehow you stumbled upon it. Whatever brought you around, I'm glad you're here. I am a free-lance writer and independent scholar of pop-cultural mythology, living and working in Minnesota. An aspiring mythmaker, I dream of voyages through space, fantastic worlds, and even my own superhero or two. I am also an established public speaker and have guest-lectured for college classes on the topic of comic book superheroes. I graduated from Bethel University in 2007 with a degree in Literature and Creative writing. I also write for the website NarniaFans.com. Head on over and you can check out my book reviews , a few fun interviews and even my April Fools Day jokes.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to College Roommate Survival Tip: Don’t Forget Your Keys!

  1. Pingback: At the Closing of the Term | Jonathon D. Svendsen

Leave a Reply

