The Unexpected Company Along The Journey

It was so much fun to go to the midnight premier of The Hobbit. As much as I enjoyed the movie, the real fun part was getting to share in the experience with some of my closest friends. It’s one thing to go out and see a movie at midnight; it’s another thing entirely to go with friends. Mainly as that means there is someone to share in what most people would deem as insanity.

This is only the sixth midnight showing of a movie that I have done. Yet it is funny, nearly ten years ago I would never have imagined that would be possible. Nor would I even imagine that back in college I would actually have gone in costume to a Star Wars movie with one of my friends. It’s not that I didn’t enjoy those movies; it’s just that it’s more fun to do those kinds of things with friends.

Ten years ago, I was a senior in high school, graduation would be in five months, and soon I would head off on my own journey there and back again, to college. I didn’t know what would lie in store for me and part of me was nervous. It was that part of me that we all have, the part that looks at the wide world ahead of us and wishes we could stay safe and comfortable for a little while longer. I certainly had an idea on what my future would look like, but well, let’s just say it didn’t happen that way.

Among the biggest surprises was when I would start college was arriving on my freshman floor. After seeing The Hobbit, it was hard not to relate my Freshman experience with Bilbo falling in with the company of dwarves.  Like Bilbo, I was a bit more shy and reserved; uncertain of whom I could trust. I like to read, enjoyed a simple life and would do nothing out of the ordinary. In my defense, it was justifiable .I was bullied growing up, and felt like I didn’t fit in in my Church Youth Group.

However, when I saw The Two Towers in theaters ten years ago, I was hardly alone. I went with my High School Astronomy Club, as it was our Christmas party. Believe it or not, I actually skipped my Youth Group Christmas Party to go to the movie with the Astronomy Club. Part of it was I felt like I fit in more with my Astronomy Club. One of the big reasons is the fact that in Astronomy Club we are all geeks and nerds, and to an extent came across as social misfits.

Looking back on it, perhaps that should have been a hint what may lie ahead in college. Sure enough I made some of the greatest friends I would ever have. As I go to know them I learned that many of them were geeks and nerds too, some just did a much better job of hiding it than I did. We even had a lot in common besides our interests. I had at last found a place and people with which I could truly fit in.

It would be those friends I’d make in college who would shape me for the better. It would be those friends that I would consider as part of my family. Now, at this point in my life, I do not necessarily know where my life’s journey will take me. However, I do know that at least I have some pretty great friends with which to share my own journeys there and back again.

Me ( center, in the black T-shirt) with three of my friends.

Me ( center, in the black T-shirt) with three of my friends.

About jonathondsvendsen

Hi! Thanks for stopping by my blog! Somehow you stumbled upon it. Whatever brought you around, I'm glad you're here. I am a free-lance writer and independent scholar of pop-cultural mythology, living and working in Minnesota. An aspiring mythmaker, I dream of voyages through space, fantastic worlds, and even my own superhero or two. I am also an established public speaker and have guest-lectured for college classes on the topic of comic book superheroes. I graduated from Bethel University in 2007 with a degree in Literature and Creative writing. I also write for the website NarniaFans.com. Head on over and you can check out my book reviews , a few fun interviews and even my April Fools Day jokes.
This entry was posted in Friendship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

