The Wait Is Finally over…Silver Leaves Issue 4: Here There Be Dragons

Face front, friends ( and I do think of you all as my “friends”.) You may remember some time ago I announced that an essay I wrote on cultural dragon myths was slated for publication. Well, at long last, it is now available for you to order.

My essay,  “Dragons: The Ultimate Adversary” is a brief look at just why it is that dragons are still such a strong foe for our heroes.

Here is a brief sample:

“Dragons. Besides their “real” cousins, the dinosaurs no other creature has inspired such a mixed array of emotions, from fear and terror to wonder an amazement.  Both are creatures that fill the realms of science fiction and fantasy, as well as in literature. To say the word ‘Dragon” conjures up various types of images in the mind.”

You can read more about the issue here.

The issue also features some incredible art work depicting these magnificent creatures and plenty of fun essays on dragons. You won’t want to miss it. I’m proud to work with these people, and I can say that what they put forth is nothing short of quality.

The journal is a publication from an international Tolkien Society called “The White Tree Fund”. All proceeds from the sale of the journal go to benefit various non-profit and philanthropic groups. You’ll help the less fortunate, and you’ll also enrich your mind. What can be better then that?

You can order issue 4, and all back issues( my work is featured in issues 2-4) here: Silver Leaves Issue 4: Here There Be Dragons.

About jonathondsvendsen

Hi! Thanks for stopping by my blog! Somehow you stumbled upon it. Whatever brought you around, I'm glad you're here. I am a free-lance writer and independent scholar of pop-cultural mythology, living and working in Minnesota. An aspiring mythmaker, I dream of voyages through space, fantastic worlds, and even my own superhero or two. I am also an established public speaker and have guest-lectured for college classes on the topic of comic book superheroes. I graduated from Bethel University in 2007 with a degree in Literature and Creative writing. I also write for the website NarniaFans.com. Head on over and you can check out my book reviews , a few fun interviews and even my April Fools Day jokes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Wait Is Finally over…Silver Leaves Issue 4: Here There Be Dragons

  1. Jansina says:

    That’s so exciting! Congrats on being published (again). 🙂

Leave a Reply

