Coming Soon To This Blog

For the next few weeks, I will be bringing you an exciting new mini-series I like to call “Countdown to Avengers: A Celebration of the Marvel Universe.” The point of this series is to celebrate the heroes of the Marvel Comics Universe.  Yes, true believers, Iron Man, Captain America, Hulk and Thor are all coming at you in my blog. Now, this is not limited to just the heroes that will appear in the Avengers film, but figures like Spider-Man, Wolverine and the X-Men too. Also, this will not be movie reviews or character bios. You can find those everywhere on the web.

Many of you know that I love superheroes. I believe they are a quintessential modern day equivalent to a mythology. They are a series of stories that explain the beliefs, practices and customs of a culture. Now, go back over that last sentence. Notice the word in bold? Stories. As such that means there are certain themes, for lack of a better word, that are present in the story. Things like accountability, Humility, heroism, and responsibility are important life lessons and virtues for all.

Now, I know that comic books are not Sunday school readers. I know that the movies are not Christian movies with a message. But there are things like the virtues I mentioned above that are present in these stories. When one stops to think about it, they would have to be there. Why else would the characters have existed for over 50 years, unless there was something more important to them besides the bright colors?

And if you like this, be back later this summer when I look at the DC Universe in Road to Rises: A Celebration of the DCU, where I’ll look at characters like Superman, Batman, Robin, Wonder Woman, The Flash and Green Lantern in anticipation for The Dark Knight Rises.

Just to reassure everyone: this will not be an all superheroes, all the time blog. I will write about other things too. I just thought I’d give you all a heads up. 

Note: This is not an attempt to hype the movies or cash in on them. This is but a celebration of superheroes. However, if you happen to check these movies or books out, hey that’s cool. Also, my blog is not prepared, affiliated, approved or endorsed by Marvel Comics, Marvel Entertainment, Marvel Studios, Walt Disney Entertainment, Paramount Pictures, DC Comics, DC Entertainment or Warner Brothers Studios. The views and opinions expressed in these posts are those of the author, and do not necissuarly reflect the views or ownership of any of the companies involved in these respective properties.

About jonathondsvendsen

Hi! Thanks for stopping by my blog! Somehow you stumbled upon it. Whatever brought you around, I'm glad you're here. I am a free-lance writer and independent scholar of pop-cultural mythology, living and working in Minnesota. An aspiring mythmaker, I dream of voyages through space, fantastic worlds, and even my own superhero or two. I am also an established public speaker and have guest-lectured for college classes on the topic of comic book superheroes. I graduated from Bethel University in 2007 with a degree in Literature and Creative writing. I also write for the website NarniaFans.com. Head on over and you can check out my book reviews , a few fun interviews and even my April Fools Day jokes.
This entry was posted in Action, Adventure, Comic Books, Fantasy, Film, Sci-Fi and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.